Governance of the Warburg Institute

MEMBERSHIP 2016-2017
Ex Officio Members

The Acting Director of the Institute: Professor Michelle O'Malley

The Dean or Deputy Dean: Professor Roger Kain/Professor Philip Murphy

The Consortia ProDean: Professor Linda Newson

Two representatives of the Warburg family: Ms Marie Warburg and Professor John Prag

The Director of the Courtauld Institute of Art: Professor Deborah Swallow

Appointed Members

(1) Not more than two Directors of Institutes within the School of Advanced Study: Professor Lawrence Goldman (2019) Professor Greg Woolf (2019)

(2) At least eight members drawn from universities and similar organisations UK-wide including up to four from University of London Colleges: Professor David d’Avray (2019); Professor Gordon Campbell (2019); Mr Hugo Chapman (2020); Dr Antony Eastmond (2019); Professor Judith Herrin (2019); Professor Peter Pormann (2019); Professor Evelyn Welch (2020) Chair; Professor Robin Wensley (2017) Professor Susan Wiseman (2019)

(3) Up to two members drawn from partners/financial stakeholders not covered by (2) but associated with the discipline

(4) At least one but up to two individuals representing academic libraries. Where there are two, at least one should be external to the University of London: Professor David McKitterick (2019)

(5) Not more than two members of the academic staff of the Institute elected by and from among the Committee of academic staff: Dr Rembrandt Duits (2019)

(6) No more than three other persons, whether resident in this country or not, whose interests lie in the special field of the Warburg Institute: Ms Elizabeth Stephen (2019) 

(7) At least one but up to two representatives of the national postgraduate research community: Ms Lorenza Gay, Ms Eva Lauenstein

Note: The date after a member’s name indicates that their term of office expires on 31 August of that year.

Download the membership list 2016-2017 here